It’s summer time

And that means lots of new blooms in the house.

Ornithidium sophronitis is back in bloom, 4 flowers this time.

Miltonia Sunset is also beginning to bloom:

My Phal that arrived in spike two months ago has also opened up:

That’s the good news. The bad news is that I lost Masdevallia veitchiana, it simply lost the remaining leaves, the increased humidity didn’t help. I think with the hot weather we’ve had recently it couldn’t handle the heat (it’s a cool grower). It’s sad. but at least my other 3 Masdevallias are doing fine. I also had to throw away one of my Dendrobiums as it was so infested with scale there was no saving it. I found scale on another plant, but not as much so I’m treating it in isolation as well as giving all my plants a preventative series of treatments with neem oil (yup it took me half a Saturday to spray them all, and it’d be good to repeat it twice more over the next couple of weeks… lots of work when you have so many plants, but then I don’t want to lose all my collection due to silly scale do I?)

6 thoughts on “It’s summer time

  1. The red phal! Amazing 😍 I need one like this in my collection!

    Shame about the loses though. Which one of your Dens did you loose? I would be curious so see the pics of scale damage. I found some suspicious signs while repotting my mum’s phal and not sure what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks hun. The first picture looks very similar to what I’ve noticed on mum’s phal. And also I saw some damage on one of the leaves, like a curly indentations, but wasn’t sure how to treat it. I’ve already left my parents house, but will be back in 2-3 months, so I’ll try to treat it then. She only has this one phal around other house plants, so not big risk of spreading

        Like

      • If it’s scale it can spread to other non-orchid plants. Just so you’re aware. My mum had some and she treated it with some oil solution like me and that got rid of it. Only with scale you’d have to scrape the shells off the leaves, it should come off easily.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks hun. I’ve only noticed 2 weird bumps and a few weird holes on 2 out of 9 leaves. Not sure if it’s scale and I also didn’t want to do anything drastic with mum’s plant as I’m not there to check regularly the effects of the treatment. I sprayed the whole thing with hydrogen peroxide while repotting and hope for the best. I will see how the plant is doing upon my next visit in October.
        PS. Don’t think my mum would be worried about her other plants being infected. She wanted me to throw away half of them anyway, but I just tidy them up 😉

        Like

Leave a comment